🤔 Hi from TechWalk: Copycat layoffs don't sting any less

They say imitation is the sincerest form of flattery, but professionals caught up in this trend just wish it would go away

Getting weird signals about the state of 2024 tech layoffs? NPR provides a great summation in this article “Nearly 25,000 tech workers were laid off in the first weeks of 2024. Why is that?”

My layoff status is:

Login or Subscribe to participate in polls.

January 31st TechWalk

Since you are in receipt of this newsletter, we have a feeling you like unique, fun, and tech-focused networking events with a splash of wellness thrown in (if we do say so ourselves!). We invite you to go connect with our 1/31 Co-Hosts in advance of this week’s walk and learn more about their takes on networking, sneak peeks follow below:

  • Saje Liese, Software Engineer II, Datadog - “I don’t build professional networks, I meet people and treat them kindly.  If they want something, I am usually happy to help.  If I need something, I won’t hesitate to ask.”

  • Adrian Plesca, Co-Founder, Remotico.pro - “I love the idea of getting curated, qualified people together to discuss science, tech, and the world. The dream networking event would be a 2 or 3-day retreat in a remote location where we learn cool stuff together, do interesting things, and take our time to share about each participant’s top skill in a 15-minute presentation”

  • Melanie O’Brien, VP, ESG Analyst, CFO and Investor Relations Research & Advisory, Gartner - “I’m pretty chill so meeting different people is a win for me. I’m also looking to partner with more people in the sustainability space so any new connections there is always a plus. My partner has a podcast that I’d love to promote in the sustainability space: The Green Place”

Smashing Conference, a TechWalk sponsor is looking for two venues for ancillary events. If you can help out please reply to this newsletter:

  • 10/7 & 10/10 Workshop locations: Looking for 3 professional rooms for 30-50 attendees (classroom or u-shape), equipped with projector/whiteboard/etc, paid usage or part of sponsorship deal

  • 10/9 Music Jam location: Informal music session for 10-20 people, drum kit, other instruments are a bonus, preferably Manhattan, but more flexible, paid usage or part of sponsoring deal

Upcoming TechWalk Schedule

TechWalk Community Member Highlight

Meet Aiden Cullo in his own words “I’m originally from upstate New York and graduated from SUNY Binghamton in 2020 with a BS in Computer Science, Math, and Physics. I have professional experience in various JS frameworks such as Vue, React, and Angular and I’ve delivered finished web applications for Tradigro, Herogrow, and Supercerebros. I’m proud of my work building state-of-the-art scientific software for the DarkSide-50k experiment at Sapienza University of Rome and the MAISE (Module for Ab Initio Structure Evolution) nanoparticle energy profiler at SUNY Binghamton. In my free time, I like learning languages and reading classic literature!”

Please go say hi to Aiden and maybe set up a follow-up conversation if you haven’t already chatted with him during a TechWalk.

TechWalk Schedule Continued…

Congrats on reaching the end of this newsletter! If you would like information on sponsoring our next edition, being a featured member, or joining a future walk as a Co-Host, simply contact us at [email protected]

Happy Walking!

Christine Farrier Rosemin

Founder